Supreme Court of Florida

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 8, 2000

HENRY N. JACOBS, ET AL. vs. SEMINOLE COUNTY CANVASSING BOARD, ET AL.

Case No. SC00-2447

DCA Case No. 1D00-4832 Circuit Court Case No. CV00-2816

Appellants Appellees

ORDER SETTING BRIEFING SCHEDULE

The District Court of Appeal, First District, has certified, pursuant to article V, section 3(b)(5) of the Constitution of Florida, that the order of the trial court in this Court's Case No. SC00-2448 passes upon a question of great public importance requiring immediate resolution by this Court.

The parties are to file in this Court no later than 9:00 a.m. December 11, 2000, simultaneous briefs on all issues in this case including why this Court should exercise its discretion under article V, section 3(b)(5), Florida Constitution. Please file an original and nine copies of all briefs. Per this Court's Administrative Order In Re: Mandatory Submission of Briefs on Computer Diskette dated February 5, 1999, counsel are directed to include a copy of all briefs on a DOS formatted 3-1/2 inch diskette in Word Perfect 5.1 (or higher) format. PLEASE LABEL ENVELOPE TO AVOID ERASURE. Appendices and exhibits should also be submitted on diskette, if possible.

No amicus curiae filings will be permitted in this case.

Case No. SC00-2447 Page 2

The Clerk of the Circuit Court of the Second Judicial Circuit in and for Leon County, Florida shall file the original record by 9:00 a.m. Monday, December 11, 2000.

WELLS, C.J., and HARDING, ANSTEAD, PARIENTE, LEWIS and QUINCE, JJ., concur.

SHAW, J., recused.

A True Copy

TEST:

Thomas D. Hall Clerk, Supreme Court

tc

Served:

GERALD F. RICHMAN ALAN GRAHAM GREER

Thomas D. Hall

JOHN R. WHITTLES SCOTT E. PERWIN

PAMELA I. PERRY

KENNETH SPRIGGS

STUART LEVEY

STEPHEN L. BRAGA

BARRY RICHARD

B. DARYL BRISTOW

GEORGE N. MEROS, JR.

SEGUNDO J. FERNANDEZ

TIMOTHY P. ATKINSON

C. ANTHONY CLEVELAND

TERRY C. YOUNG JANET COURTNEY

MATTHEW D. STAVER

ERIK W. STANLEY

DEAN F. DIBARTOLOMEO

JOEL OSTER

KATHERINE CHRISTY

JOHN STEMBERGER

KENNETH B. WRIGHT

JONATHAN SJOSTROM

JOSEPH P. KLOCK, JR. DEBORAH K. KEARNEY

MICHAEL S. MULLIN

MICHAEL D. CIRULLO

HON. DAVE LANG, CLERK

HON. JON S. WHEELER, CLERK

HON. NIKKI ANN CLARK, JUDGE